An entrepreneurial and collaborative ecosystem between companies, organizations and the world of knowledge.

Mobilize.

Collaborate.

Innovate.

Undertake.

What is the Vallée de la Transition Énergétique?

Guided by the desire to contribute to accelerating the energy transition and reducing the environmental footprint within urban, industrial and port environments, the cities of Bécancour, Shawinigan and Trois-Rivières are joining forces for the benefit of a collective proposal that aims to make a sustainable transition that matches their ambitions and those of the province of Québec. Together, we aspire to provide innovative, technological and economic solutions in response to societal and ecological challenges.

Our development sectors

The VTE intends to become a national and global reference in research, development, industrialization and promotion of innovation resulting from its technological axes, in addition to promoting its commercialization. We intend to position the province of Québec and its assets in an emerging market.

Battery
Sector

  • Eco-design and optimization of a new generation of batteries;
  • Reconditioning and recycling of batteries;
  • Valorization of critical and strategic minerals and optimization of electrochemical processes.

Transport &
Electrification

  • Development / integration of components, innovative charging and electrification systems;
  • Development of electric off-road vehicles.

Hydrogen, industrial & port decarbonization

  • Decarbonized logistics and heavy industry systems, port operations and heavy transport;
  • Optimization of the production and use of green hydrogen in the industrial and port chain.

Three poles
of innovation

Pole
Bécancour

A natural business niche for Bécancour, the environmental theme was woven through its industrial vocation, which saw the birth of one of the first nuclei of industrial symbiosis in Quebec. Most industrial sub-sectors are represented there, choosing Bécancour to take responsibility for the challenges of social acceptability and achieve their GHG reduction targets.

With the largest industrial park and port under provincial jurisdiction, where major investments in the battery sector are confirmed and the production of green hydrogen is developing, Bécancour is recognized worldwide and becomes an ideal playground for testing and updating the innovative technological solutions of the VTE.

Pole
Shawinigan

Designated City of Energy after having marked the history of hydroelectricity in the province, Shawinigan continues to trace its expertise in electrochemistry and the electrification of transport. Anchored by its research centers present on its territory and rich in an innovative ecosystem of companies in the transportation electrification sector, Shawinigan is already presenting itself as an essential pillar in the next stages of the development of the VTE.

Shawinigan’s contribution also goes through its entrepreneurial culture, which has taken root for more than ten years through incubation infrastructures that promote the emergence of startups.

Pole
Trois-Rivières

Pioneer of heavy industry in Canada and recognized for its quality of life and cultural richness, Trois-Rivières focuses its efforts on reducing the carbon footprint of industrial and port activities aimed at achieving the objectives of Quebec and Canada. The City’s investments in a new economic development model led in 2019 to the launch of the innovative entrepreneurial district Halo, from which various animation and networking activities now emanate.

Geographical center of the VTE, Trois-Rivières will also be at the center of its culture of collaboration, surrounded by major innovation players who stand out in the renewable energy, clean technology and sustainable development sectors.

Knowledge ecosystem

To position the province of Québec as a world leader in research, training, development and industrialization in technological innovation of the VTE. To become an example of multi-establishment and inter-order consultation to promote the transfer of knowledge and the development of technologies relating to the energy transition.

The VTE’s scientific committee defines and directs the scientific program linked to the three axes of development of the VTE. It encourages innovations and partnerships between all players to strengthen existing expertise and push the boundaries of knowledge. It promotes collaborative projects and the pooling of resources to increase the synergy of the components of the ecosystem.

Management Team

Alain Lemieux

Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Alexia Selin

Executive Assistant

Guillaume Parenteau

Vice President, business development

Michèle Landry

Michèle Landry

Vice President, public affairs and community outreach

Clément Villemont

Clément Villemont

Vice-president, knowledge environment and innovation ecosystem

Florence Harvey

Communications and events coordinator

Cédrick Lalaizon

Strategic consultant special projects, France-Quebec exchange corridor

Contact us

Phone

Email

Address

1000 Boulevard Arthur-Sicard,
Bécancour, G9H 2Z8

Un écosystème entrepreneurial et collaboratif entre les entreprises, les organisations et le monde du savoir.

Mobiliser.

Collaborer.

Innover.

Entreprendre.

Qu’est-ce que la Vallée de la Transition Énergétique?

Guidées par la volonté de contribuer à l’accélération de la transition énergétique et à la réduction de l’empreinte environnementale au sein des milieux urbains, industriels et portuaires, les villes de Bécancour, Shawinigan et Trois-Rivières unissent leurs forces au bénéfice d’une proposition collective qui vise à opérer une transition durable à la hauteur de leurs ambitions et de celle du Québec. Ensemble, elles aspirent à mettre en force un écosystème de recherche, à apporter des solutions innovantes, technologiques et économiques en réponse aux défis sociétaux et écologiques.

Nos secteurs de développement

La VTE compte devenir une référence nationale et mondiale en recherche, en développement, en industrialisation et en valorisation de l’innovation issue de ses axes technologiques, en plus d’en favoriser la commercialisation. Le tout afin de positionner clairement le Québec et ses atouts dans un marché en émergence.

Filière
batterie

  • Éco-conception et optimisation des futures batteries de nouvelle génération;
  • Reconditionnement et recyclage de batteries;
  • Valorisation des minéraux critiques et stratégiques et optimisation des procédés électrochimiques.

Électrification
des transports

  • Développement / intégration de composantes, de systèmes innovants de recharge et d’électrification;
  • Développement de véhicules hors routes électriques.

Hydrogène et décarbonation industrielle et portuaire

  • Logistique et systèmes décarbonés de l’industrie lourde, des opérations portuaires et du transport lourd;
  • Production (électrolyse, biomasse, éolien, solaire), stockage, distribution et utilisation de l’hydrogène renouvelable et bas carbone dans la chaîne industrielle et portuaire.

Les trois pôles
d’innovation

Pôle
Bécancour

Créneau d’affaires naturel pour Bécancour, la thématique environnementale s’est tissée à travers sa vocation industrielle, qui a vu naître un des premiers noyaux de symbiose industrielle au Québec. La plupart des sous-secteurs industriels y sont représentés, choisissant Bécancour pour se responsabiliser face aux enjeux d’acceptabilité sociale et atteindre leurs cibles de réduction des GES.

Avec le plus grand parc industriel et portuaire de juridiction provinciale, où se confirment des investissements d’envergure dans la filière batterie et se développe la production d’hydrogène vert, Bécancour est reconnue mondialement et devient un terrain de jeu idéal pour tester et mettre à l’échelle les solutions technologiques innovantes de la VTE.

Pôle
Shawinigan

Désignée Cité de l’Énergie après avoir marqué l’histoire de l’hydroélectricité de la province, Shawinigan continue de tracer son expertise dans l’électrochimie et l’électrification des transports. Ancrée par ses centres de recherche présents sur son territoire et riche d’un écosystème innovant d’entreprises dans le secteur de l’électrification des transports, Shawinigan se présente déjà comme un pilier essentiel dans les prochaines étapes du développement de la VTE.

La contribution de Shawinigan passe aussi par sa culture entrepreneuriale, qui s’est enracinée depuis plus de dix ans par le biais d’infrastructures d’incubation favorisant l’émergence de startups.

Pôle
Trois-Rivières

Pionnière de l’industrie lourde au Canada et reconnue pour sa qualité de vie et sa richesse culturelle, Trois-Rivières oriente ses efforts sur la diminution de l’empreinte carbone des activités industrielles et portuaires visant l’atteinte des objectifs du Québec et du Canada. Les investissements de la Ville dans un nouveau modèle de développement économique ont conduit en 2019 au lancement du district entrepreneurial innovant Halo, d’où émanent maintenant diverses activités d’animation et de maillage.

Centre géographique de la VTE, Trois-Rivières se placera aussi au centre de sa culture de collaboration, entourée par des acteurs importants de l’innovation qui se démarquent dans les secteurs des énergies renouvelables, des technologies propres et du développement durable.

Écosystème du savoir

Positionner le Québec comme chef de file mondial de la recherche, de la formation, du développement et de l’industrialisation en innovation technologique de la VTE. Mettre en lumière un exemple de concertation d’une synergie interétablissements et interordres pour promouvoir le transfert des connaissances et le développement de technologies touchant à la transition énergétique.

Le comité scientifique de la VTE défini et oriente la programmation scientifique liée aux trois secteurs de développement de la VTE. Il encourage les innovations et les partenariats entre l’ensemble des acteurs pour renforcer l’expertise existante et repousser les limites du savoir. Il favorise les projets collaboratifs et la mutualisation des ressources pour accroître la synergie des composantes de l’écosystème.

Équipe

Alain Lemieux

Alain Lemieux

Directeur général

Alexia Selin

Alexia Selin

Adjointe à la direction

Guillaume Parenteau

Guillaume Parenteau

Vice-Président au développement des affaires

Michèle Landry

Vice-présidente,  affaires publiques et relations avec le milieu

Clément Villemont

Vice-président,  milieu du savoir et écosystème de l’innovation

Florence Harvey

Coordonnatrice communications et évènements

Cédrick Lalaizon

Consultant stratégique projets spéciaux – Corridor d’échange France-Québec

Contactez-nous

Téléphone

Courriel

Adresse

1000 Boulevard Arthur-Sicard,
Bécancour, G9H 2Z8